Lars Ulrich thought “for sure” that Metallica’s new album would leak

Following the announcement of Metallica’s highly-anticipated new album 72 Seasons, Lars Ulrich shares his disbelief that they were able to keep it all a secret…

Lars Ulrich thought “for sure” that Metallica’s new album would leak
Emily Carter

This week has already been ridiculously exciting for Metallica fans, with the metal titans returning with a huge new single, plus news of their brand-new album and accompanying world tour. And drummer Lars Ulrich has shared his enthusiasm for it all, too – particularly for the fact that it came as such a surprise to the world.

In a new interview on The Howard Stern Show (via Blabbermouth), the drummer proudly shares that, pretty much for the first time ever, they managed to keep everything completely under wraps. “We’ve been working on a new album for the last year, year-and-a-half – our COVID lockdown record,” Lars says. “And the one thing that we’ve done all through that is for the first time in our career, we never really talked about it. So, rather than, ‘Hey, there’s a new record’ and countdowns and, ‘Guess what’s coming your way?’ and all that kind of shit, we’ve been tight-fucking-lipped about it.”

He adds: “We thought for sure this thing would leak. It hasn’t fucking leaked.” Fair play. And what a glorious surprise it was when we all found out yesterday.

Watch Lars on Howard Stern below:

If you haven’t already done so, watch the video for Lux Æterna below:

Check out the 72 Seasons tracklist:

1. 72 Seasons
2. Shadows Follow
3. Screaming Suicide
4. Sleepwalk My Life Away
5. You Must Burn!
6. Lux Æterna
7. Crown of Barbed Wire
8. Chasing Light
9. If Darkness Had a Son
10. Too Far Gone?
11. Room of Mirrors
12. Inamorata

72 Seasons is due out on April 14, 2023 via Blackened Recordings.

Read this: 10 lesser known Metallica songs that everyone needs to hear

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?