Jerry Cantrell shares brand-new single Atone; announces third solo LP Brighten

Watch Jerry Cantrell's strikingly cool new black-and-white video for Atone – featuring Greg Puciato, Duff McKagan and more.

Jerry Cantrell shares brand-new single Atone; announces third solo LP Brighten
Emily Carter

The mighty Jerry Cantrell has announced details of a star-studded new solo album, Brighten.

The Alice In Chains legend has marked the news by sharing lead single (and album opener) Atone – plus a strikingly cool black-and-white video featuring former Dillinger Escape Plan vocalist Greg Puciato and Guns N' Roses' Duff McKagan.

"As a fan of Ennio Morricone scores and Sergio Leone movies, it’s got a bit of that outlaw vibe, with a cool psycho hillbilly stomp," Jerry says of the tune. "It’s been kicking around in my head for like 20-plus years, haunting me. Sometimes it takes a while for a good idea to find its best form. Such was the case with Atone."

Read this: How Singles captured grunge’s unstoppable rise to mainstream prominence

Of Brighten as a whole – which, as well as Greg and Duff, features the talents of Gil Sharone and Abe Laboriel Jr. on drums, Tyler Bates on strings, percussion and guitar, Vincent Jones on piano, keys and strings, Jordan Lewis on piano, Michael Rozon on pedal steel, Lola Bates on background vocals and Matias Ambrogi-Torres on strings – Jerry explains: “I’ve been in the band for almost 34 years now. It’s always my first and foremost commitment, but it’s nice to explore different things and add another chapter to a growing body of work. After the last AIC tour wrapped, I geared my mind towards the possibility of making another record of my own.”

Brighten is due out on October 29. Watch Atone below:

See the full tracklist for Brighten:

1. Atone
2. Brighten
3. Prism of Doubt
4. Black Hearts and Evil Done
5. Siren Song
6. Had To Know
7. Nobody Breaks You
8. Dismembered
9. Goodbye

And the album artwork:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?