IBARAKI (Trivium’s Matthew Kiichi Heafy) announces album featuring Nergal, Gerard Way

Matt Heafy has already shared Tamashii No Houkai featuring Ihsahn, but Nergal and Gerard Way will also guest on upcoming IBARAKI debut LP Rashomon…

IBARAKI (Trivium’s Matthew Kiichi Heafy) announces album featuring Nergal, Gerard Way
Emily Carter

Following the project's launch last month, Trivium’s Matthew Kiichi Heafy has now shared full details of the release of IBARAKI's debut album Rashomon – and dropped another new song.

As well as the already-released collab with Emperor's Ihsahn (Tamashii No Houkai), Matt has enlisted two more very special guests for the 10-track record: Gerard Way on Rōnin, and Nergal on Akumu – which is out now.

"Akumu translates to 'nightmare' – and with this piece, I encourage the listener to work to find their interpretations of what they feel from the lyrics, music, and the haunting visuals of the music video," explains Kiichi. "I have always been fascinated by Sagazan's Transfiguration, and for years, I have wanted to pay homage to his works with a performance art piece; to finally be able to immerse myself in his style was an intense experience.

"Having Nergal guest in this Ihsahn co-written piece allowed me to combine many of my long-time influences; and when I presented with Nergal of the challenge of translating my lyrics into Polish, it brought the song to another level."

Watch the video for Akumu below:

Check out the full tracklist for Rashomon:

1. Hakanaki Hitsuzen
2. Kagutsuchi
3. Ibaraki-Dōji
4. Jigoku Dayū
5. Tamashii No Houkai
6. Akumu (Feat. Nergal)
7. Komorebi
8. Rōnin (Feat. Gerard Way)
9. Susanoo No Mikoto (Feat. Ihsahn)
10. Kaizoku

And the awesome artwork:

Rashomon is due out on May 6 via Nuclear Blast.

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?