The Gaslight Anthem announce new album, release single with Bruce Springsteen

The Gaslight Anthem have announced new album History Books – the follow-up to 2014’s Get Hurt – and shared the record’s title-track, featuring Bruce Springsteen.

The Gaslight Anthem announce new album, release single with Bruce Springsteen
Emily Carter

Following April’s awesome Positive Charge, The Gaslight Anthem have not only shared another new single, but announced their first studio album in nine years.

Entitled History Books, the long-awaited sixth record from the New Jersey foursome follows 2014’s Get Hurt, and it comes after they confirmed they’d be “returning to full-time status” as a band last year. It’ll be released on October 27 via TGA’s own label Rich Mahogany Recordings (distributed via Thirty Tigers).

“We didn’t have any interest in reinventing what The Gaslight Anthem sounds like,” explains frontman Brian Fallon. “We wanted to stay true to ourselves but also let Peter [Katis, producer] do what he does best, which is to make things sound beautiful and sad and fun and exciting all at the same time.”

To coincide with the album announcement, the band have shared the album’s title-track, featuring a guest spot from their home state hero Bruce Springsteen.

“When Bruce Springsteen said I should write a duet for us, I think my head exploded,” says Brian. “It will never get old to me that one of the greatest songwriters in the world, and the voice of one of my heroes will forever be captured in a song I wrote at a small wooden desk, in October, in New Jersey.”

Check out History Books below, and read our new interview with Brian here to find out everything about Gaslight’s next chapter.

See the History Books tracklist:

1. Spider Bites
2. History Books (feat. Bruce Springsteen)
3. Autumn
4. Positive Charge
5. Michigan, 1975
6. Little Fires
7. The Weatherman
8. Empires
9. I Live In The Room Above Her
10. A Lifetime Of Preludes

And the album cover:

Catch The Gaslight Anthem live at the following U.S. dates this year:


29 Richmond, VA – Brown’s Island (with Avail)


13 Washington, PA – Four Chord Music Fest


15 Louisville, KY – Bourbon & Beyond
16 Grand Rapids, MI – GLC Live at 20 Monroe
19 Cleveland, OH – House of Blues
20 Indianapolis, IN – Egyptian Room at Old National Centre
22 Columbus, OH – The Bluestone
23 Chesterfield, MO – The Factory
24 Madison, WI – The Sylvee
26 Oklahoma City, OK – The Criterion
27 Wichita, KS – The Cotillion
29 Sioux Falls, SD – The District
30 La Vista, NE – The Astro – Indoor Theater


2 Denver, CO – The Fillmore Auditorium
4 Las Vegas, NV – Brooklyn Bowl
5 Wheatland, CA – Hard Rock Live
7 Boise, ID – Knitting Factory Concert House
8 Spokane, WA – Knitting Factory Spokane

Read this: Brian Fallon: “I wanted to make sure I could write songs that were worthy to be the next Gaslight Anthem record”

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?