Sunn O))) Announce New Album Life Metal

Sunn O))) will release their eighth full-length album Life Metal in April

Sunn O))) Announce New Album Life Metal

Seminal dronelords Sunn O))) will return in April with new studio album Life Metal.

Released on Southern Lord, Life Metal will be Sunn O)))'s first full-length in four years, and was recorded with legendary producer Steve Albini at his Electrical Audio studio.

According to the official press statement, Life Metal was recorded by "the core" of co-founders Stephen O'Malley and Greg Anderson, and "arranged by the greater constellation Sunn O)))."

Stephen and Greg are joined by Tim Midyett on bass and guitars, Hildur Guðnadóttir on vocals, electric cello and haldorophone and composer Anthony Pateras, who plays pipe organ on Troubled Air.

The statement goes on to say that "paintings by visual artist Samantha Keely Smith graciously adorn the sleeve and provide a perfect suitable mask to the proceedings. They collide ideas of 19th century romanticism & late 20th abstract expressionism (mysticism) with Sunn O)))’s approach to metal. Photographer Ronald Dick shot them in baths of light colour representing depth of sound pressure in the work."

Life Metal will be released in April through Southern Lord.

Sunn O))) are heading out on a headline European tour this spring, including their first ever shows in France. Dates below.

Sunn O))) 2019 European tour


28 Frankfurt Mousonturm, Germany


01 Graz Elevate Festival, Austria
02 Prague Divadlo Archa, Czech Republic
03 Hamburg K6, Germany
04 Amsterdam Paradiso, Netherlands
06 Lyon L’Epicerie Moderne, France
07 Nancy L’Autre Canal, France
08 Dijon La Vapeur, France
09 Rouen Quasa Rites Day, France
11 Tours Le Temps Machine, France
12 Nantes Stereolux, France
13 La Rochelle La Sirene, France
14 Bordeaux Le Rocher de Palmer, France

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?