Maggie Lindemann drops new single, you’re not special

Maggie Lindemann’s latest song will appear on her forthcoming debut album, SUCKERPUNCH.

Maggie Lindemann drops new single, you’re not special
Zoya Raza-Sheikh

American singer-songwriter Maggie Lindemann first made her name as a pop girl and has since branched out into the alt. space. In 2021, the artist dropped her PARANOIA EP, featuring breakout tracks Knife Under My Pillow and Crash and Burn.

Since then, Maggie has released new music including she knows it, how could you do this to me? (feat. Sleeping With Sirens’ Kellin Quinn), and break me! (feat. Siiickbrain).

Maggie explains the meaning behind her latest single, you’re not special: “I wanted the song to make a statement. Everyone has had to deal with someone in their lives who is two-faced – so kind to your face and mean behind your back. There’s always going to be someone judging you or hoping to see you fail, but rather than let those people get under your skin – keep doing you and pursuing your dreams.

“This song is an anthem for these people of Janus, maybe not the one they want, but it sure was fun to write!”

The singer’s upcoming record, SUCKERPUNCH, will chronicle a journey of self-discovery: “It's the journey from being upset to being angry to being hopeful – a hopefulness I want listeners to know exists for them, too,” Maggie shares.

SUCKERPUNCH will be out on September 16 via swixxzaudio and Virgin Music.

Alongside news of the album tracklist (which you can read further down), Maggie has unveiled a brand-new music video for you're not special.

Watch it below:

Check out the tracklist for SUCKERPUNCH below:

  1. intro / welcome in
  2. take me nowhere
  3. she knows it
  4. casualty of your dreams
  5. self sabotage
  6. phases
  7. i’m so lonely with you
  8. break me! (ft. siiickbrain)
  9. girl next door
  10. we never even dated
  11. novocaine
  12. you’re not special
  13. hear me out
  14. how could you do this to me? (ft. Kellin Quinn)
  15. cages

Check out the alternative cover of Maggie’s debut album, SUCKERPUNCH, below:

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?