Korn announce new album Requiem, release first single

Korn's 14th album is coming on February 4. Watch the trippy video for Start The Healing now...

Korn announce new album Requiem, release first single

After teasing fans with mysterious billboards and online bredcrumbs, Korn have announced that their new album is done and will be released on February 4 via Loma Vista.

The nu-metal kings' 14th record was conceived and recorded in COVID times, meaning they had extra time on their hands with which to make it, allowing them to experiment and use techniques like recording to analogue tape.

To celebrate, they've released the video for the first cut from the album, Start The Healing. Directed by Tim Saccenti (Flying Lotus, Run The Jewels, Depeche Mode), it's a weird visual feast.

"Our idea for this video was to mutate that aspect of the DNA of Korn, of what makes them so inspiring, their mix of raw power and transportive aesthetics and human emotion," says the director.

"I wanted to take the viewer on an emotional journey, as the song does, a visceral, cathartic death and rebirth that will hopefully help transport the listener through whatever their personal struggles are.

"Collaborating with 3-D artist Anthony Ciannamea we tapped into Korn's mythology and explored their vast well of light and darkness to create a surreal, liminal-pace body-horror nightmare."

The full tracklisting for Requiem is:

1. Forgotten
2. Let the Dark Do the Rest
3. Start The Healing
4. Lost in the Grandeur
5. Disconnect
6. Hopeless and Beaten
7. Penance to Sorrow
8. My Confession
9. Worst Is On Its Way

Catch the band when they play Download 2022, June 10-12. Get your tickets now.

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?