Jinjer announce fourth album Wallflowers, drop new single Vortex

Jinjer promise a "different kind of album musically and visually" on their fourth record, Wallflowers…

Jinjer announce fourth album Wallflowers, drop new single Vortex
Emily Carter
Alina Chernohor

Ukrainian progessive metalcore giants Jinjer have announced details of their brand-new album, Wallflowers.

The quartet's fourth studio album is due out on August 27 via Napalm Records, with bassist Eugene Abdukhanov revealing of the follow-up to 2019's Macro: "Growing creatively has always been a major goal for us. The day Jinjer stops reaching for new musical horizons will be our last day as a band. We could have churned out what our peers expected us to do or produce Pisces clones without end, but we’ve never done that and we never will.

"Instead, we wrote an album whose level of emotions range from the fiercest aggression we’ve ever had, to the most intricate melodies and melancholic vibes you could ever get from our music. We decided to rip apart all possible stylistic boundaries without regard to financial success or competing with our previous albums. Wallflowers is a different kind of album musically and visually. It’s about our identity as a band, as individuals and a clear statement that we are different from most artists… and that it is okay to do your own thing."

Read this: Slayer: The stories behind 20 of their biggest songs

Of lead single Vortex, meanwhile, Jinjer reveal that it was "the first song we recorded and the first single we played live [at Hellfest From Home 2021]. This is a perfectly balanced song in our opinion. A story told through the music and it deserved a video to perfectly match it…

"The video is a journey, giving the single another layer, another message, as Tatiana sings about the burden of heavy thoughts and how devastating it can be, the video mirrors what the world has sadly become for many of us."

Watch Vortex below:

Check out the Wallflowers tracklist:

1. Call Me a Symbol
2. Colossus
3. Vortex
4. Disclosure!
5. Copycat
6. Pearls and Swine
7. Sleep of the Righteous
8. Wallflower
9. Dead Hands Feel No Pain
10. As I Boil Ice
11. Mediator

And the album artwork:

Catch Jinjer on the road this year in September and October with Humanity's Last Breath and HYPNO5E.

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?