Cold Years Announce Debut Album, Paradise

Listen to Cold Years' new single Night Like This, taken from the band's upcoming album Paradise.

Cold Years Announce Debut Album, Paradise

Aberdeen rockers Cold Years have announced details of their debut album, Paradise.

The band will be releasing their highly-anticipated new effort on May 8 via eOne, following a series of brilliant EPs over the past few years.

Explaining the sarcastic album title, frontman Ross Gordon reveals: "Our hometown is a shithole. The album is called Paradise because Aberdeen is not a paradise. It's horrible, it's grey, and it's cold all the time. We all live and work here, and it's not very happy. It's quite morbid when you stop to think about it. But at the same time, it's home."

Meanwhile, of the themes contained within the record, he adds: "There's an ongoing narrative about how fucked everything is at the moment. It links everything really, not just purely politics. It's linked to the economy, to drugs and alcohol, and what our generation is going through right now. You work hard in school, you train for your career and you try to succeed at it, but the reality is that none of it really fucking matters. It's a record that's angry because, as a generation, we feel like we've been sold short."

Check out Night Like This below:

The tracklist for Paradise is as follows:

1. 31
2. Life With A View
3. Night Like This
4. Northern Blue
5. Breathe
6. The Waits
7. Burn The House Down
8. Electricity
9. Too Far Gone
10. Hold On
11. Dropout
12. 62 (My Generation's Falling Apart)
13. Hunter

And the artwork looks like this:

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?