CLT DRP confirm new album Nothing Clever, Just Feelings and release title-track

Watch the video for CLT DRP’s new single Nothing Clever, Just Feelings, taken from their upcoming album of the same name.

CLT DRP confirm new album Nothing Clever, Just Feelings and release title-track
Emily Carter
Bridie Florence

CLT DRP have unveiled details of their new album Nothing Clever, Just Feelings.

The LP is due out on September 8 via Venn Records, and vocalist Annie Dorrett calls it “our true ethos of self-expression”. “Equally chaotic and hypnotic, it was meant to be blasted in the car at full volume while you curse your ex, your past ghosts, and you celebrate your cherished independence while you have it,” Annie continues.

CLT DRP are previewing the album with the title-track, with the singer explaining of the song: “Desperation, anger, confusion – all the feelings. I think I spent a lot of time when I was younger trying to be clever about lyrics. I wanted to try and be witty or something ‘mature’. As a younger woman in the industry, I felt like I wasn’t going to be taken seriously writing the way I did.

“I quickly realised that the music I listen to the most is nothing like that, so why would I try and emulate something I don’t even listen to? The lyrics I connect with are always straight forward emotions or familiar scenarios that I can identify right away when I first hear a song. Being present in the lyrics and emotions are important to me as a lyricist. I want you in the car with your friends screaming the lyrics at full blast cursing your ex! That’s what this song is supposed to do.”

Watch the video below:

See the Nothing Clever, Just Feelings tracklist:

2. Nothing Clever, Just Feelings
3. I See My Body Through You
4. Desire / 1 on 1
5. M.U.T.M
6. Cake 4 The Women
7. Only One
9. The Door
10. Easier Than This
11. I Put My Baby To Sleep

And the excellent album cover:

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?