Atreyu announce upcoming album Baptize, share two new songs

Hear Atreyu's two new singles: Warrior featuring blink-182's Travis Barker, and Underrated.

Atreyu announce upcoming album Baptize, share two new songs
Emily Carter

California metalcore crew Atreyu have announced details of their new album Baptize.

Following the departure of frontman Alex Varkatzas last October, the band – vocalist Brandon Saller, guitarists Dan Jacobs and Travis Miguel, bassist/vocalist Portner McKnight and drummer Kyle Rosa – are forging ahead with new material, sharing two new songs from Baptize to coincide with the LP's announcement.

Atreyu have teamed up with blink-182's Travis Barker on Warrior, which they say is "a song about persistence and never giving up". "We hope this song can be the puzzle piece that helps people realise that we all have the capacity for greatness," the band continue. "Sometimes, greatness can exist in the shadows and lives buried under negativity, trauma, or anxiety. Warrior is about searching through all of that endless darkness to finally find the sunrise.

Read this: The 21 best U.S. metalcore albums of all time

"When we wrote Warrior, the idea to do a big marching drum break came about. We wanted it to feel like a hometown football game. Travis Barker was the perfect person to bring this to life. It's cool to have him be a part of the song and to perform in a different light than what people may be used to."

They've also shared Underrated, of which Atreyu state: "We've always had to prove ourselves. We've never been handed anything nor have we taken any shortcuts. It's never been 'the easy way'. Over two decades later, we're still making our mark."

Check out Warrior featuring Travis Barker:

And here's Underrated:

The full tracklist for Baptize is as follows:

1. Strange Powers of Prophecy
2. Baptize
3. Save Us
4. Underrated
5. Broken Again
6. Weed
7. Dead Weight
8. Catastrophe
9. Fucked Up
10. Sabotage Me
11. Untouchable feat. Jacoby Shaddix of Papa Roach
12. No Matter What
13. Oblivion feat. Matt Heafy of Trivium
14. Stay
15. Warrior feat. Travis Barker

And the artwork looks like this:

Baptize is due out on June 4 via Spinefarm Records.

Read this: A Day To Remember: Jeremy McKinnon’s track-by-track guide to You’re Welcome

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?