Alter Bridge's Myles Kennedy announces second solo album, shares lead single In Stride

Listen to Myles Kennedy's thumping, uplifting new single In Stride, taken from the Alter Bridge frontman's upcoming second solo LP The Ides Of March.

Alter Bridge's Myles Kennedy announces second solo album, shares lead single In Stride
Emily Carter
Chuck Brueckmann

Alter Bridge frontman Myles Kennedy has confirmed details of his upcoming second solo album: the rock, blues and country-inflected The Ides Of March.

The rock'n'roll vocalist/guitarist will be releasing solo record number two – the follow-up to Year Of The Tiger – on May 14 via Napalm, with awesome lead single In Stride out now (with an accompanying animated video by Stefano Bertelli, who also did Alter Bridge's Native Son promo).

Read this: How we wrote Metalingus, by Alter Bridge’s Mark Tremonti

Of his new track – which was seemingly inspired by people's behaviour in this whirlwind coronavirus world – Myles explains casually: "Chill out. That pretty much sums it up.

"The lyric paints a picture of a survivalist preparing for an impending zombie apocalypse. It was inspired by the first wave of lockdowns as everyone was buying vast amounts of toilet paper and supplies. I started to ask myself if it might be wise to try and gain some perspective and not overreact… keep calm and carry on."

Watch In Stride below:

Check out the full The Ides Of March tracklisting below:

1. Get Along
2. A Thousand Words
3. In Stride
4. The Ides Of March
5. Wake Me When It’s Over
6. Love Rain Down
7. Tell It Like It Is
8. Moonshot
9. Wanderlust Begins
10. Sifting Through The Fire
11. Worried Mind

The artwork, meanwhile, looks like this:

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?