Alice Cooper announces new album Road, shares first single I’m Alice

Listen to the ‘master of madness, the sultan of surprise…’ Alice Cooper’s new single I’m Alice, taken from his just-announced new album Road.

Alice Cooper announces new album Road, shares first single I’m Alice
Emily Carter
Jenny Risher

Alice Cooper has announced details of his brand-new album Road.

The 13-song LP will arrive in full on August 25 via earMUSIC, and it’s been something of a new approach for the Godfather of Shock Rock, who explains that he wanted his live band – guitarists Ryan Roxie, Tommy Henrikson and Nita Strauss, bassist Chuck Garric and drummer Glen Sobel – to play a big part this time around.

“In the past, the show got reviewed before the music did,” he says. “We had hit Number One albums, but it was always about what we did onstage.

“For Road, I wanted the band to be involved in the foundation of all the songs. I only see these guys when we’re on the road. So, I wanted them to be as tight as they are for the show but on all new material. That’s what we did for this record. When you have a band this good, I believe in showing it off.”

And he’s clearly thrilled with the results, explaining how a busy work life is keeping him constantly motivated to be the best he can be.

“There’s no downtime for me at all,” Alice continues. “I’ve got this album, this tour, Hollywood Vampires, and a whole lot more. Most guys my age want to rest and relax. I’ve never felt more up. Physically, I’m in as good of shape as I’ve ever been. I’m not looking for any way out. I’m not going retire, and I don’t want anyone to think I am. I’m at the top of my game right now.”

Listen to the lead single from Road, which is entitled I’m Alice, below:

See the full Road tracklist:

1. I’m Alice
2. Welcome To The Show
3. All Over The World
4. Dead Don’t Dance
5. Go Away
6. White Line Frankenstein
7. Big Boots
8. Rules Of The Road
9. The Big Goodbye
10. Road Rats Forever
11. Baby Please Don’t Go
12. 100 More Miles
13. Magic Bus

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?